This exceptional antique George V cast sterling silver medallion has a circular form.
The anterior surface of this antique silver medallion is embellished with a scene depicting the Glasgow City Chambers encircled with the commemoration: 'Extension of city chambers Glasgow opened by HRH the Princess Mary Viscountess Lascelles 1923'.
The raised rim is further ornamented with a cast and applied coat of arms of Glasgow surmounted with the crest of the figure of Saint Kentigern affrontee vested and mitred, his right hand raised in the act of benediction, and left hand a crozier; all above the motto 'Let Glasgow Flourish'*.
The reverse surface bears the portrait of Princess Mary Viscountess Lascelles accented with a laurel to her hair and a beaded necklace to her plain neckline.
This antique medallion is fitted to an execeptional hinged leatherette presentation box with satin and velvet lined interior, securing with a hinged catch.
The interior of each cover of the box bears the retailer's mark 'To his Majesty the King Edward, Diamond Merchants, 92 Buchanan Street, Glasgow', all below the Royal coat of arms.
This antique silver medallion retains the original gilding.
This impressive example of antique silverware, crafted by George Edward & Arthur Edward of George Edward & Sons, bears the inscription 'REPLICA' to the rim, in addition to the full hallmarks.
* The city of Glasgow did not have a coat of arms until the middle of the 19th century, when Lord Lyon King at Arms gave approval of the one known today in 1866. The motto is said to have been taken from St Mungo (originally known as Kentigern), who preached a sermon containing the words "Lord, let Glasgow Flourish by the preaching of the word". St Mungo also has correlations to the other factors of the Glaswegian coat of arms, featuring within the stories and legends which made up the iconic and unusual scene.
Learn more on medallion history
Maker: George Edward & Sons